‘Do not stand at my grave and weep’ – from Drs Anwar and Abdullah Mangi

May 27, 2009:

Sarwar’s passing away, (despite knowing the nature of illness) jolted us both in a manner which we had not anticipated.

The amazing grit with which he fought till very last, redefined the very words, ‘grace and diginity’. But then, that is what great Sarwar was!

Ever since we spoke this morning, this little poem ( not mine ), was ringing in my head. I share the same with the thought, If it was possible to cummunicate after transition, I am sure this is the echo we would have heard.

Do not stand at my grave and weep,

I am not there, I do not sleep,

I am a thousand winds that blow,

I am the diamond glints on snow,

I am the sunlight on ripened grain,

I am the gentle autumn’s rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s rush,

I am the swift uplifting rush

of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the stars thar shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,

I am not there, I did not die………!

(Mary Elizabeth Frye (1905-2004) Baltimore housewife and florist)

We know your familys grief is too deep and too clossal to to comprehend. But since Sarwar was no ordinary soul, we must celeberate his transition. I know he would like that.

We share your grief and our prayers are with you. May God give his soul eternal peace.

Anwar and Abdullah Mangi.

– Message read out by Naween Mangi at PMA House, May 31, 2009

Leave a Reply

